Voices from Russia

Tuesday, 26 February 2013

Orthodox Church to Thank God for No Meteorite Blast Deaths

00l 22.04.12 Prayer Rally Moscow. Patr Kirill 02

______________________________

On Tuesday, the MP Diocese of Chelyabinsk said it’d organise a mass prayer {do they mean a Molieben of Thanksgiving in every parish and monastery?: editor} on Thursday evening to thank God that no deaths occurred during the recent meteorite blast. On 15 February, as the meteorite streaked through the sky over Chelyabinsk Oblast, the shockwave from the meteorite’s explosion in the atmosphere shattered windows and damaged walls in thousands of residential buildings. There were over 1,500 injuries, mostly from flying glass shards. The Diocese of Chelyabinsk posted on its website, “God saved Chelyabinsk and other cities and towns in the Urals from a terrible disaster. The meteorite blast claimed no human lives. Therefore, believers will gather on Thursday in Chelyabinsk churches to thank the Creator for preventing a possible catastrophe”. The prayers will begin at 18.30 local time (16.30 MSK. 12.30 UTC. 07.30 EST. 04.30 PST. 23.30 AEST).

26 February 2013

RIA-Novosti

http://en.rian.ru/russia/20130226/179699626/Orthodox-Church-to-Thank-God-for-No-Meteorite-Blast-Deaths.html

Editor’s Note:

If one were to synchronise prayers with the mass prayer in Chelyabinsk, the above time zone equivalency should help you. In England, it’d be at the beginning of the afternoon, during lunch break… it’d be breakfast time in New York, right before work… it’d be half past dark in San Francisco (even the owls are still baggin’ Zs there)… in Sydney, it’d be the end of a long hot summer day (it’s the equivalent of a Northern Hemisphere August), half an hour before midnight. I think that it’d be a good idea… but that’s only me, mind you. Just sayin’…

BMD

About these ads

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 791 other followers

%d bloggers like this: