Voices from Russia

Wednesday, 19 June 2013

19 June 2013. Beliefnet Fucks Up Royally… See Who They Named as the Head of “Today’s Russian Orthodox Church”

00 same ol' shit. 29.05.12

______________________________

A Cabinet member sent me this link to Beliefnet. I noted that the piece seemed lifted in places, word-for-word, from a translation I posted on WordPress in November 2007. However, this howler was part of the post:

“Gagarin also became well-known for the phrase he is said to have stated, a phrase that was used extensively by the atheist propaganda of the time,” writes Nafpaktos Hierotheos Vlachos, the head of today’s Russian Orthodox Church.

That’s chowderheaded ignorance, kids. I posted this on Beliefnet:

Nafpaktos Hierotheos Vlachos is the head of today’s Russian Orthodox Church? I think not… that honour has gone to His Holiness Patriarch Kirill Gundyaev of Moscow and all the Russias since 2009. Who proofread this? That’s one of the worst howlers I’ve seen in a while. What do you expect from right-wing “culture warriors”, though… by the way, I translated an Interfax interview with Col Petrov on Yuri Gagarin back in Nov ’07. It’s available at:

http://02varvara.wordpress.com/2007/11/27/im-proud-the-communists-accused-me-of-bringing-yuri-gagarin-to-orthodoxy/

Nevertheless, to think that no one proof-read this before posting stuns me…

Let’s see… who posts on Beliefnet? Hmm… Freddie M-G, Rod Dreher, Terrence Mattingly… my, my, my… and none of these “Orthodox” so-called-experts caught this. Speaks volumes about them, doesn’t it? As I posted in Beliefnet, the “culture warriors” seem to be lacking a certain something… knowledge… expertise… competence… simple diligence. What a buncha maroons…

BMD

 

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 869 other followers

