Voices from Russia

Sunday, 24 March 2013

“I’ve lost the point… there’s no point [or meaning] in my life”: Berezovsky

00 Boris Berezovsky 5. Russia. 24.03.13

______________________________

Boris Berezovsky, the exiled Russian oligarch, said less than 48 hours before he was found dead at his home in Berkshire that he no longer saw any point in life. llya Zhegulev, a commentator with the Russian edition of Forbes, met the 67-year-old oligarch in the restaurant of the Four Seasons Hotel on Park Lane on Friday evening. Mr Berezovsky said that he’d lived through “many disappointments” in London. He said, “I’ve lost the point… there’s no point [or meaning] in my life. I don’t want to be involved in politics. I don’t know what to do. I’m 67 years old. And I don’t know what I should do from now on”. He said that he wanted to return to Moscow, saying, “I want nothing more than to return to Russia. Even when they opened a criminal case against me, I wanted to return to Russia… that was my main miscalculation… Russia is dear to me, I can’t be an émigré”. Friends of Mr Berezovsky raised the possibility of suicide and said he had been “destroyed” by losing a 3 billion UK Pounds (141.3 billion Roubles. 4.6 billion USD. 3.6 billion Euros) legal action with his former business partner, Roman Abramovich, the owner of Chelsea FC. Berezovsky has lived in exile in Britain since 2000. The UK gave him asylum in 2003, which created tensions between Whitehall and the Kremlin. Once a billionaire, friends said that he’s suffered financial and personal problems.

24 March 2013

Voice of Russia World Service

http://english.ruvr.ru/2013_03_24/I-ve-lost-the-point-there-is-no-point-or-meaning-in-my-life-Berezovsky/

The Rubric Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 788 other followers

