Voices from Russia

Sunday, 24 March 2013

Police say No Initial Signs Others Involved in Berezovsky’s Death

00 Boris Berezovsky

______________________________

On Sunday, British police said there were no initial signs that anyone else was involved in the death of exiled oligarch Boris Berezovsky at his mansion outside London. Detective Chief Inspector Kevin Brown of Thames Valley Police said, “We don’t have any evidence at this stage to suggest third party involvement”, although he added that the 67-year-old’s death remained “unexplained”.

******

On Monday, the Russian Embassy in London shall issue a statement in connection with the death of fugitive Russian oligarch Boris Berezovsky. The announcement came from an Embassy spokesman.

******

On Sunday, British police investigating the death of exiled Russian oligarch and Kremlin critic Boris Berezovsky said that a search of his house by chemical, biological, and nuclear experts found “nothing of concern”. Superintendent Simon Bowden of Surrey Police, the upmarket area outside London where Berezovsky’s body was found at his mansion on Saturday, said, “I’m pleased to say the CBRN (chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear) officers found nothing of concern in the property and we’re now progressing the investigation as normal”.

******

Presidential spokesman Dmitri Peskov said that we shouldn’t be hasty in our discussion of having Boris Berezovsky’s burial in Russia. In an interview with Dozhd TV, Peskov said, “I wouldn’t discuss this issue as it’s hypothetical. If such a request is made… let’s wait for it to be made, and see how it’ll be made… then, a decision would probably be made in Moscow“.

******

On Sunday, a source close to the Berezovsky family told reporters that the relatives of Russian oligarch Boris Berezovsky, who died in the UK on Saturday, still haven’t decided on the possible place of his burial, but they’re confident that he died of natural causes. A source told Interfax, citing Berezovsky’s relatives, “Now, we can say with 100 percent certainty that the death was due to natural causes. There’s been no discussion of the place of his possible burial yet. The family doesn’t even know when the investigation will be completed, when a final death certificate will be issued, and when the body will be given to the relatives”. In speaking about when the authorities will likely hand over the body to relatives, the source mentioned that the investigation following the death of Berezovsky’s business partner Badri Patarkatsishvili took about two weeks. When asked whether the relatives would ask permission for them to bury Berezovsky in Russia, the source said, “I think there’s little probability of that, as many of Berezovsky’s friends wouldn’t be able to attend the funeral for various reasons. Although, it would be great if the family could bury Berezovsky in Russia.”

******

Michael John Smith, an intelligence expert and the last person convicted of spying for the USSR in the UK, stated in a VOR interview that information just came in that disgraced oligarch Boris Berezovsky may have died on Friday night and that his bodyguard found him in his bath at about 11.00 UTC (04.00 PDT. 07.00 EDT. 15.00 MSK. 22.00 AEST). According Mr Smith, citing official sources, no one called the ambulance until 15.30 UTC (08.30 PDT. 12.30 EDT. 19.30 MSK. 02.30 24 March AEST). There are conflicting versions as to the reason for the delay in calling the authorities, but according to Smith, it’s clear from media reports and statements by relatives and friends of Berezovsky that they received word of his death around lunch time.

24 March 2013

Voice of Russia World Service

http://english.ruvr.ru/2013_03_24/No-initial-signs-others-involved-in-Berezovsky-death-police/

http://english.ruvr.ru/2013_03_24/Russian-Embassy-to-comment-on-Berezovsky-death-Monday/

http://english.ruvr.ru/2013_03_24/Police-find-nothing-in-radiation-search-of-Berezovsky-home/

http://english.ruvr.ru/2013_03_24/Russia-may-consider-Berezovskys-burial-in-Russia-if-appropriate-request-is-made/

http://english.ruvr.ru/2013_03_24/Berezovsky-family-believe-his-death-was-natural-source/

http://english.ruvr.ru/2013_03_24/Boris-Berezovsky-may-have-died-on-Friday/

About these ads

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 791 other followers

%d bloggers like this: