Voices from Russia

Sunday, 20 December 2015

20 December 2015. Should One Vote for a Muslim as POTUS?

ballotbox

______________________________

This was my reply to a FB post on whether one would vote for a Muslim as POTUS:

America is NOT a “Christian nation”… it wasn’t, it isn’t, and it can’t be… by its very foundational documents. Secularism was there from the top. There has never been a religious test for political office, and, please God, there never will be. I speak as a religious believer (Russian Orthodox Christian, to be precise). As a member of a “minority” faith, I appreciate the protection that secularism gives me. May America NEVER fall into the hands of the Born Again loons. If I can vote for Bernie (a secular Jew), I can vote for a Muslim… full stop.

The USA was never a “Christian polity”… NEVER. Do ponder that…

BMD

Blog at WordPress.com.

