Voices from Russia

Wednesday, 17 August 2016

17 August 2016. When Can One Preach “Purity” to Others?

00 subbotnik cleanup in Donetsk. 22.03.15

I’m too busy cleaning up my own sins to be going about and reading this one or that one out of the Church. Have a care with those who do so. I’d call them phonies and “loud clashing cymbals” (as the Apostle put it)… I’m not alone in thinking that way…

______________________________

One wonders why so many Christians feel that they have a right, nay a duty, to regulate and legislate everyone else’s life, when they so obviously have so much trouble regulating their own? Of course, once we exhaust so much energy telling everyone else how they should live and how they should think, it’s hardly surprising that we have so little energy left to set our own lives in order.

Archbishop Lazar Puhalo

Hear, hear! You set your own house in order… only when you’re done, can you go forth and preach to others how “imperfect” they are and how they fall short of the Church’s standard. I confide that I’m still cleaning up my mess… what does tell you about loud moralists like Dreher and Whiteford (and those akin to them)? Nothing good, I’d warrant…

BMD

Blog at WordPress.com.

