Voices from Russia

Tuesday, 30 May 2017

30 May 2017. Why Konvertsy Toddlers Get Their Way… And Why Bishops Should Stand Up to Them

St Felix martyred by his students, torturing him with stylus and inkpot

Golden Legend, Bruges, c1450; @MorganLibrary MS M.672-5 I

________________________

I wrote a friend:

Looks like a bunch of konvertsy pestering a bishop…

Their reply was:

I thought the same thing!

I believe that the bishops give in to konvertsy toddlers because they keep pestering the poor guys, and the bishops give in to get some peace. I’d remind the bishops that one of their duties is to protect people against lynch mobs of fanatics and that our tradition is one of sensible oikonomia, not legalistic akrivia. That is, Orthodoxy favours accommodation rather than confrontation. Note well that the konvertsy don’t like the basic orientation of the Church. That tells you much about them and their noxious agenda and fancies.

The bishops should tell the loudmouth konvertsy to buzz off, grow up, and attend to their own souls and gardens. I’d applaud any bishop who’d do that…

BMD

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

