Voices from Russia

Tuesday, 30 May 2017

30 May 2017. Why Konvertsy Toddlers Get Their Way… And Why Bishops Should Stand Up to Them

St Felix martyred by his students, torturing him with stylus and inkpot

Golden Legend, Bruges, c1450; @MorganLibrary MS M.672-5 I

________________________

I wrote a friend:

Looks like a bunch of konvertsy pestering a bishop…

Their reply was:

I thought the same thing!

I believe that the bishops give in to konvertsy toddlers because they keep pestering the poor guys, and the bishops give in to get some peace. I’d remind the bishops that one of their duties is to protect people against lynch mobs of fanatics and that our tradition is one of sensible oikonomia, not legalistic akrivia. That is, Orthodoxy favours accommodation rather than confrontation. Note well that the konvertsy don’t like the basic orientation of the Church. That tells you much about them and their noxious agenda and fancies.

The bishops should tell the loudmouth konvertsy to buzz off, grow up, and attend to their own souls and gardens. I’d applaud any bishop who’d do that…

BMD

Advertisement

Wednesday, 26 June 2013

26 June 2013. In Memory of a Great and GOOD Man: Vladyki Job Osacky Singing at His Last Holy Friday Matins

00 Archbishop Job Osacky of Chicago. OCA. 26.06.13

******

______________________________

I need say nothing. Vladyki Job Osacky was one of God’s Own… He took him early… “only the good die young”. That was so true in this case. We didn’t deserve him… look at how we’ve acted over the last fifty years. As one of the Cabinet said, “He was the last honest bishop in the OCA“. I do fear that assessment was right on the mark…

Вечная ему память!

BMD

Tuesday, 25 June 2013

Antiochian Patriarch Youhanna Slams Failure to Free Bishops

00 Patriarch Youhanna Yazigi of Antioch. 17.12.12

______________________________

Antiochian Orthodox Patriarch Youhanna al-Yazigi questioned the failure of states and security forces to expedite the release of two abducted bishops. Youhanna said during liturgy at Balamand Monastery, “We appreciate the efforts exerted by the [relevant] states and security forces to seek out information on the fate of the two bishops, but we wonder if they lack the resources to secure their release? We believe their fate is in the hands of God, but this doesn’t [free] anyone from the responsibility of finding out the truth and releasing them as soon as possible”. Bishops Boulos al-Yazigi and Youhanna Ibrahim were kidnapped by armed men in April on their way to Aleppo from the Turkish border.

24 June 2013

The Daily Star

http://www.dailystar.com.lb/News/Local-News/2013/Jun-24/221376-greek-orthodox-patriarch-slams-failure-to-free-bishops.ashx#axzz2XGlIsVas

Editor’s Note:

The missing bishops have fallen off the radar of the American news media. Most Amerikantsy have the attention span of a gnat in heat, so, that shouldn’t surprise anyone. Of course, Patriarch Youhanna’s antsy… Bishop Boulos is his brother in the flesh. It’s been two months since the kidnapping… and counting…

BMD

 

Thursday, 21 July 2011

Oldest Catholic Bishop in the World Died in Byelorussia

Catholic Archbishop Kazimierz Cardinal Świątek (1914-2011)

______________________________

The burial service of the oldest Roman Catholic bishop in the world, Archbishop Kazimierz Cardinal Świątek, who died on the morning of 21 July in Belarus, will be in Pinsk on Monday, 25 July. Byelorussian Catholic sources informed Interfax that the farewell ceremony would be at the Pinsk Cathedral. On Saturday, 23 July, Archbishop Świątek’s body will be brought to the Minsk Cathedral of the Blessed Virgin Mary, where a funeral service will begin at 13.00 EET (14.00 MSK 11.00 UTC 06.00 EDT 03.00 PDT). Archbishop Świątek died on 21 July at about 09.00 EET (10.00 MSK 07.00 UTC 02.00 EDT 23.00 PDT 20 July) at the age of 96 at a hospital in Pinsk.

21 July 2011

Interfax-Religion

http://www.interfax-religion.ru/?act=news&div=41576

******

Insignia of a Commandeur de l’Ordre national de la Légion d’honneur (French Legion of Honour), Cardinal Świątek was raised to this distinction in 2006.

******

Kazimierz Cardinal Świątek (21 October 1914-21 July 2011) was former Archbishop of Minsk-Mogilev, and Apostolic Administrator of Pinsk. Świątek was born in Valk, in the Baltic provinces of the Russian Empire (present-day Valga. in Estonia). His father Jan served in the Russian army during World War I, then, in the Polish army in the Polish-Soviet War, being killed the Battle of Vilna in 1920 in the latter conflict. Świątek’s family lived in the Polish Second Republic from 1922, settling in the town of Baranovichi (in present-day western Byelorussia), Kazimierz studied at the Gimnazjum Tadeusz Rejtan. In 1932, he graduated, and entered St Thomas Aquinas Major Seminary in Pinsk. After completing seminary, Świątek was ordained a Catholic priest on 8 April 1939 and sent to the parish of Prużany.

The USSR occupied Pinsk in 1939, the NKVD arrested Świątek on 21 April 1941, and held him in Brest for two months. Taking advantage of the confusion caused by the Nazi invasion of the USSR on 22 June 1941, Świątek escaped from prison, and returned to Prużany, where he served as the local priest. On 17 December 1944, Soviet state security arrested him for a second time. The following year, on 21 July 1945, a troika sentenced him to 10 years hard labour in the GULag; so, he spent nine years in Siberia and the Soviet Arctic, working in the taiga and mines at Vorkuta, Inta, and Mariinsk. After his release in June 1954, he returned to Pinsk, and served in the Franciscan church there. In 1988, he became a chaplain of John Paul II Wojtyła, the Pope of Rome.

On 21 April 1989, he became the Vicar General of the Diocese of Pinsk. On 21 May 1991, he was raised to the episcopacy, after being named Archbishop of Minsk-Mogilev and Apostolic Administrator of Pinsk on 13 April 1991. John Paul II proclaimed Świątek a cardinal on 26 November 1994. He was the first President of the Conference of Byelorussian Catholic Bishops, serving from 1999 to 2006, the church’s website said, “This emphasised his leading role in the Church in Byelorussia”. In July 2006 Świątek, then aged 91, resigned from the offices of Archbishop of Minsk-Mogilev and President of the Conference of Byelorussian Catholic Bishops, remaining the Apostolic Administrator of Pinsk. On 19 May 2011, he suffered a hip fracture, and his health went swiftly downhill after that. On 30 June 2011, Archbishop Tadeusz Kondrusiewicz replaced him as Apostolic Administrator of Pinsk.

He was a Commandeur de l’Ordre national de la Légion d’honneur (French Legion of Honour); French President Jacques Chirac decorated him on 23 November 2006, saying, “For the French people, this man is the embodiment of the Byelorussian people’s history over the last seventy years”. In addition, he won the Fidei Testis (Witness of the Faith) Award of the Paul VI Institute in Brescia (Italy); John Paul II personally bestowed it upon on him.

http://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D0%A1%D0%B2%D1%91%D0%BD%D1%82%D0%B5%D0%BA,_%D0%9A%D0%B0%D0%B7%D0%B8%D0%BC%D0%B8%D1%80

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kazimierz_%C5%9Awi%C4%85tek

Blog at WordPress.com.