Voices from Russia

Wednesday, 19 November 2014

19 November 2014. UPDATES! UPDATES! Oh, My Lord, How MANY Updates Does Microsoft Have Up Its Sleeve?

01 sick computer

______________________________

All afternoon, the machine has installed “updates”… how many does Microsoft have? It’s at 33 and counting. It came loaded with Windows 8, and I had to download 8.1, amongst other things. Let me tell you, “8” is a real wackadoo OS… I can see why Redmond had to radically overhaul it. God willing, I’ll have it all up and copacetic by tomorrow. The best-laid plans of mice and men…

BMD

19 November 2014. The Cat’s Back… She’s as Feisty as Ever… With Her Bear’s Help, Of Course…

00 Fat Freddy's Cat. 11.06.13

______________________________

I’m on a new machine… it’s good to have my fingers moving over the old keyboard again. I’m no Luddite, but it’s damned near impossible to post using a tablet… they don’t have proper keyboards and there’s not much that you can do with them… it’s good for Twitter, I suppose, but not much else. This machine has 4 gigs of RAM and 500 gigs on the hard drive, which is more than the last beast did. In 2008, I spent 600 bucks for a machine with 4 gigs of RAM and 320 gigs on the hard drive, and today we spent 300 bucks for a slightly better model. It’s also MUCH smaller. In ’08, I had a largish desktop… in August ’13, we got a laptop with the same specs as the desktop… today, I’m using a machine not larger than a large tablet, but with a fully functional keyboard and Windows. Later on, I may get another desktop, but the modern ones are MUCH smaller than the ’08 iteration. Technology marches on, and I’m not takin’ up the rear.

It’ll take a few days to get everything back up to snuff… but I’m still here, I’m feisty, and feelin’ my oats. It’s GOOD to be back…

BMD

Blog at WordPress.com.